About Nora Debolt

Below are some of Nora’s Prints currently available.

Here is a link to an album of some more popular prints:

http://beankittystudio.wetpaint.com/photos/album/182990/Nora+Debolt+Print+Album

January 2013 update:

Thanks to ALL of you who have written by email to inquire about your Nora Debolt prints! I’ve heard
from folks all over the United States who have discovered their prints at thrift stores, estate sales and
hidden away in closets and attics and basements.

HANG ON TO THOSE PRINTS!!!!

The original company that ran the prints has not responded to any inquiries regarding those prints. Others have made that

request and were not responded to, along with my own request-perhaps there is no one there that has any history or records

that far back.  Perhaps I will keep trying to get their attention.  The Kaplan company is no longer in existence for quite a few years

now and perhaps the records have been lost, I hope to find out.

In the last 3 years I’ve met some wonderful Debolt fans..To all of you, Congratulations on your finding all those great prints!
Before you ask me to estimate the value of your print, PLEASE!..send a photo and the size of the print and the size of the frame.
This will save a lot of time and effort and waiting.

Several very nice people have written to me asking about their prints by this wonderful artist. Her paintings have been an inspiration to me for several years. I have researched her for all of those years, have contacted many online reference lists of artists, also the Smithsonian, and the Library and Research Center of the National Museum of Women in the Arts, there are some 18,000 names listed there, but not Nora’s. I have also visited 3 libraries and researched books listing hundreds of artists , also not there. What I CAN tell you about her is, that sometime in the late 1880’s or early 1900, she went on holiday somewhere in the northeast around an area of beautiful lakes. There, she painted a series of approximately 10 paintings, many of which some of you may have prints, and some that are very rare. The company that runs those prints has not rerun them since around 1980’s. From there, she disappears from history, A wonderful painter who expressed herself in beautiful colors and brush strokes. Perhaps, she went back to being a mother with children to care for, we will never know. In any case, I will continue to be inspired from those beautiful paintings that are left and carry on my own style, inspired by hers.

The company that produced the prints went out of business. As far as I know, there are none available other that what you find up for sale by owners or at sales, thrift stores or estate sales.
This is why the prints are becoming so valuable. If you keep your eyes open, watch ebay and other auction and sale sites. The only way to replace it is to wait or hunt for another.

These prints are becoming more and more rare. For those of you who are wanting to know  the value of your prints..this is all the information I can give you:

The company that ran the prints is no longer in business…although there are some companies in other countries that ran them. The prints were discontinued as late as 1996.
They ran sets approximately every 5 years. You will not find reprints that I know of in any store, which means that any prints found will be from resellers, estate sales, garage sales and thrift stores.

These paintings were done in the early 1900’s.
This alone makes your prints valuable. Ebay and other auction sites are a good place to
search. As of 1/1/11 large matted and framed Nora prints sell for anywhere from 60.00 on up  to 150.00, and I believe will continue to increase in value.
The only reproductions available will be from former owners posting for sale.
Hope this helps


49 Responses to “About Nora Debolt”


  1. 1 Diane vanLier May 29, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    I found a print at a consignment furniture store for $12 of 2 women and a child walking in the foreground and a sailboat in the distance – unfortunately a mat was glued to the print so far inside the print it even hid the artist’s signature. I carefully separated the print from the aweful matting, but unfortunately it left some glue in spots where the mat was that I am unable to remove. I thought I could go on line and just find more by this artist and can find nothing! Are there no reproductions of her work to be found?

    • 2 joslynhighlander May 29, 2011 at 10:37 pm

      Diane,
      The company that produced the prints went out of business. As far as I know, there are none available other that what you find up for sale by owners or at sales, thrift stores or estate sales.
      This is why the prints are becoming so valuable. If you keep your eyes open, watch ebay and other auction and sale sites. The only way to replace it is to wait or hunt for another.
      The only reproductions available will be from former owners posting for sale.
      Hope this helps! Thanks for posting,
      BeankittyStudio

    • 3 Johronia Mitchell June 22, 2012 at 4:42 pm

      I have a copy of the signed print Ms VanLier is referring to. Can you tell me what it is worth? It is also signed by Nora DeBolt

  2. 4 George A. Perkins June 13, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    Good Morning, Have a Nora De Bolt print on e-bay. One That I Havent Seen. Its of course Authur A. Kaplan Co. NYC . A 1988 ; VH4943 Duck Pond. It is framed; Glass Front , Has Her Signature ; Lower Right Corner. It is Beautiful. This post is June 13, 2011. I would like to thank you for allowing me to see her above prints , they are stunning. Joe

  3. 6 Laura Hammer October 22, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    I came across a Nora Debolt print at a thrift store for 1.00. I am unable to find anything online regarding this print. I am hoping someone can help me. The print is titled “Resting” 1988 Arthur Kaplan co inc nyc LT-4940. I am interested in selling.

  4. 7 Rene Richard January 3, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    I have just purchased a Nora DeBolt print. It is similar to the garden path. There is a path leading to a village (four identifiable buildings) located on the left hand side of path. In the right hand corner of print/path is a woman and child picking flowers. There are seven sailboats on the water with small mountains in the background. There is a large tree on the right side of the print. Trees and flowers along left side and bottom of print. Are you familiar with this print?

  5. 9 deloris weeks February 21, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    Ok my mother in law gave me two Nora Debolt prints. I am trying to find the name of one of them i fould one on line it is called sailing. The other one have what looks like geese swiming in a lake would love to find out what the name of it is. As they will hang in my new home for years to come. I have no plan’s to sell them but would like to know the value if you know for my insurance

    • 10 joslynhighlander February 22, 2012 at 3:03 am

      Hi Deloris, Congrats on your Debolt prints. I wish I could help you with the title, but i do not know it, but I believe it’s this one:

      If I should find out the title I will happily send you an email. They truly are lovely, arent they?

      • 11 trinasimon December 13, 2015 at 7:12 am

        I have the same print dated 1988 reprint from the Kaplan company . the name of it on mine is called “duckpond”. I am only selling mine because I have to sell everything I own due to losing my home :
        if anyone can tell me the value?
        I don’t know where it came from ,
        I found it in my home mysteriously , perhaps a visitor left it behind. Thank you, Trina Simon 805-895-2382 text

      • 12 Crystal Magnuson May 10, 2016 at 11:10 pm

        ” Duck Pond”. I have this print, too.

    • 13 trinasimon December 13, 2015 at 7:20 am

      I have the same print it’s called
      ” duck pond” on mine, the reprint is dated 1988.
      I would like to know the value if anyone knows, thank you, Trina (contact number in other email I posted before this one)

  6. 14 Christina May 25, 2012 at 4:37 am

    Hi i have had a painting for 7 years now that was given to us by a family friend. She is from belgium originally but lives in usa now, so im not sure if it was brought to the us or bought here but we decided tonight to try to find more info on this painting. It is in the list of pictures above the 12th one or 4th row last (3rd) picture. It has a white fence with pink flowers on it and a tree behind it. Behind that is small houses around a river/pond with mountains/hills surrounding. My question is do you know the name of the painting and how do i find out if it is of value? Im not looking to sell it but it would be nice to know and maybe be worth something later on after given to my daughter one day. Which shes only 4 so thats some time to come still lol. Any info would be appreciated.

  7. 15 Christina May 25, 2012 at 4:38 am

    Hi i have had a painting for 7 years now that was given to us by a family friend. She is from belgium originally but lives in usa now, so im not sure if it was brought to the us or bought here but we decided tonight to try to find more info on this painting. It is in the list of pictures above the 12th one or 4th row last (3rd) picture. It has a white fence with pink flowers on it and a tree behind it. Behind that is small houses around a river/pond with mountains/hills surrounding. My question is do you know the name of the painting and how do i find out if it is of value? Or if you happen to know what the possibility of the value if it is worth anything of course. Im not looking to sell it but it would be nice to know and maybe be worth something later on after given to my daughter one day. Which shes only 4 so thats some time to come still lol. Any info would be appreciated.

  8. 17 harry October 29, 2012 at 10:14 am

    hi: did Nora ever sign any of her paintings on the right side? thanx

  9. 22 Donna January 15, 2013 at 10:45 pm

    I have 2 Nora Debolt framed pictures. Frame and all they measure 17″ H. x 21″ w. From what I have seen these two are tilted 1. A day at the beach, and 2. Picnic at the beach.

  10. 24 shelia treat April 12, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    I have a print of the Waiting for my owner. 14X20 approx. how much is it worth.

    • 25 joslynhighlander April 13, 2013 at 1:27 pm

      Shelia, This print is the rarest of Nora Debolt’s prints. It’s worth is pretty specific to collectors of Nora Debolt. There are quite a few out there.
      I’ve also found that it depends on the season of the year too. There are just some periods during the year that nothing happens. Your print, if in
      good condition can be $100. or more. Thanks for looking in on my blog about Nora.
      Cheers!

  11. 26 Donna May 2, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    How do I sent you pics of my Nora De Bolt prints. I have a total of 3, A day at the beach, Picnic at the Beach, and one other I cannot identify. I would like to see if you know the title, if it has one. Thanks

  12. 28 alex September 10, 2013 at 3:41 am

    i have “the patio” print in a frame, looks exactly like the one on this page, would anyone be interested in buying it? i can mail it, i have it listed on ebay all i want is 50 for it

  13. 29 Liz February 3, 2014 at 12:09 am

    I found 2 of her prints in my moms things after she passed and I remember her saying yo hold onto ghem.

  14. 31 Jennifer March 27, 2014 at 12:18 am

    umm hello I have a painting from debolt called “resting” how much would this cost if it is sold

    • 32 joslynhighlander March 27, 2014 at 2:09 am

      Hello Jennifer,
      Thanks for visiting! As I do not know the size of your print I cannot really tell you about any value to it, however if you would just do a search
      for Nora at Ebay or other auction or for sale sites you should get a good idea.

  15. 33 dawn June 1, 2014 at 5:03 pm

    Hi. I have 2 prints of Nora Debolt. One is of 2 ladys having a picnic by the lake and the other is a scene of sailboats in the lake. Do you know the value? They are in
    Great condition. But look cheaply framed. Thanks for your help. Dawn

  16. 34 Mitch August 16, 2014 at 2:47 am

    I just recently acquired 3 Nora De bolt’s large poster-like framed artwork in a lot of 10 from an auction! These 3 nicely framed prints all have her signature on the left bottom and appears to be in pencil. Is this correct?

  17. 36 Katherine Brown October 31, 2014 at 4:47 pm

    I have “Summer Fields”, how can I tell if it is a reprint or original, please? I have always believed it to be an original but had never heard of her. It measures 16×20 in the frame and I am unsure how to remove it from the frame without destroying the frame. I don’t see a company name anywhere just her signature on the left near the bottom in White. Nothing on the back of the frame at all. I would have posted a photo but can’t see how to do that here.. Would you happen to know the value of this piece? Any information would be greatly appreciated and I am interested in selling. Thank you for taking the time to read this.. I am sending a photo to the email address I see in your replies above, I hope this is still an active email account.

  18. 38 Wendy January 12, 2015 at 4:10 pm

    I found a framed print of Nora DeBolt’s in my mom’s things after she passed away recently. I think it is Picking Flowers. It has a woman and a child picking flowers and in the distance there is a lake with sailboats on it. The frame measures 24×30. Is there any value to this print? Mom had a lot of different pieces of art and I don’t know which ones are valuable and which ones are just pretty to look at.

  19. 39 Judy Frederick January 2, 2016 at 1:41 am

    I have had a nora debolt picture that I think I bought in a dollar store.it is white birch trees a very small lake with a hill all of it is done in light mint peach and light blue. My email isn’t working at this time but would like to know more about this picture.up an on facebook Judy Frederick Florence ky. My email when I get it working is jfgiggles1@outlook.com. thank you so much.

  20. 41 Candace Leana Jarman September 13, 2016 at 5:05 am

    Hi! my name is Candace and i have a Nora DeBolt painting it is called The Glorious Morning. If anyone has any information on it i would like to know more about this painting and if possible its value.

  21. 42 Gerald May 31, 2017 at 4:37 pm

    Hello my name is Gerald and im in reciept of several 1993 prints of nora debolts painting are they of value?

  22. 43 Jack Wallace July 24, 2017 at 5:58 pm

    I have a large Nora print, strolling is it, matted framed,

  23. 44 Debbie snider February 20, 2018 at 7:47 pm

    I have a print by miss nora Dr bolt
    It’s number by this 1988 Arthur a Kaplan co.
    FL-4942 called sailing by De bolt
    Litho in USA..I can send picture of it..
    Thanks Debbie snider

  24. 45 marshall bucci April 7, 2018 at 7:23 pm

    I think I may have the original of 2 women Strolling..not sure can anyone recommend next steps?

    • 46 joslynhighlander April 8, 2018 at 3:59 pm

      Hello Marshall, I’m sorry I cannot help you if you have an original. Look to your local art dealer or appraisers. I’ve only seen one original at auction and it went for 3,000.00 years ago

  25. 47 Sharon lance July 14, 2018 at 6:25 pm

    I have a print and would like to know it’s worth or value. Here is a picture of it.

  26. 48 Joel Inocencio February 19, 2021 at 11:52 pm

    Hi, I found my way to your Blogsite while searching for info about Nora Debolt. I have a beautiful painting given to me as a gift with Nora Debolt’s signature. I’ve had this painting for about 20 years. I believed it’s a reproduction. It doesn’t have the title. I wish to post and share the image here, but the comment section has no means to post a picture. If it’s ok with you, I can email the photo to add it to your blog. Thank you.


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other subscribers